Breeder Awards Program

What is BAP?

BAP stands for the Breeder Awards program and is designed to:

  • Encourage members of the Nebraska Aquarium Society (NAS) to breed fish and share knowledge concerning the spawning and rearing of fish.
  • Recognize the achievements of those NAS members.
  • Promote interest in and make available a wider variety of fish.
  • Encourage members to be active participants in the club.

The Breeder Award Program is open to any member in good standing of the NAS. Participants accumulate points for each different species or color form they are able to reproduce successfully. Species are grouped into six classes according to the degree of difficulty. Species not listed will be credited and class assignments will be made on an individual basis by the BAP coordinator and/or the NAS Board.

Participants can earn five different levels of breeders awards. The highest level, the Master Breeder award, has additional levels awarded for every 100 points earned; resulting in Master Breeder Level 1,2,3, etc.

Points earned in all classes are cumulative and will not expire unless the membership lapses for more than 1 year. Only the first spawn of each species or color form will be awarded points.


Participation is easy. Just fill out the online BAP submission form. Additionally, in an email to, attach a video of the spawn and parents.  To qualify for points you should have at least 10 fry that survive in your tank for at least thirty days after they are free-swimming. For certain species, fewer than ten fry might qualify for points at the discretion of the BAP coordinator. Have fun! Breed your fish, and share your experiences with your fellow hobbyists.

Members can also view their submissions (pending or reviewed), and view every member’s approved submissions.


  1. Participants must be NAS members in good standing.
  2. Points will be awarded only once for each species or color form spawned.
  3. Parents of fry must be owned and kept by the member.
  4. Species not listed in the classification will be considered for inclusion on an individual basis. If accepted, they will be evaluated and assigned to a class by the BAP coordinator and/or the Board.
  5. The BAP coordinator may alter any of the program regulations or classifications in order to maintain the quality of the program, or to resolve unforeseen problems.

BAP Chairs will present award-level achievements at NAS quarterly meetings.

Award Levels

  1. Novice, 25 points
  2. Intermediate, 50 points
  3. Advanced, 100 points
  4. Senior, 200 points
  5. Master Level 1, 400 points
  6. Master Level 2, 500 points
  7. Master Level 3, 600 points


  • Class A: 5 points – species that can breed over a wide range of conditions with fry that do not require special foods.   
    • Common Examples: Livebearers, Tanichthyes (White Clouds), Brachydanios, Convict Cichlids, Tilapia (mouthbrooding), common guppy’s and platy, L-144, etc. bristle nose pleco.
  • Class B: 10 points – species that can be bred easily given specific conditions.
    • Common Examples: American Flag fish (Jordanella), Shrimp, Badis badis, Gouramis (large), Bettas, Paradise fish, common Barbs, Tilapia (non-mouthbrooding), Copeina sp., Mouthbrooding Cichlids, Pelvicachromis, Easy & Intermediate Killies, Aquidens, Geophagus, Julidochromis, Neolamprologus.
  • Class C: 15 points – those species that may present moderate problems in one or more of the following areas: aggressive behavior, water chemistry, specific diet requirements, mate selection or sexing, special tank set-up requirements, special care for fry. 
    • Common Examples: Small Gouramis, Advanced Killies, Corydoras, Crenicara, Oscars, Chocolate Cichlid, Chromides, Pencil fish, Microgeophagus, Apistogramma, Urau, Headstanders, Goldfish, Koi, Otocinclus, Nanochromis, Gobies, Cichlasoma, Anomalochromis, Chromidotilapia, South American Cichlids (Angelfish, Rams etc.), Gobies, Gudgeons, Rainbow ((New Guinea, Australian, Madagascar)
  • Class D: 20 points – those species that present significant problems in the areas mentioned above. 
    • Common Examples: Synodontis, Discus, Neon Tetras, Anableps, Hatchetfish, Cardinal Tetras, Silver Dollars, Pantodon, Marine Damselfish, Glassfish, Archerfish, Ctenopoma, Chocolate Gouramis, Axolotl, Bumblebee Goby, Monos, Scatophagus, Leporinus, Sucker mouth Cats, Pike Cichlids
  • Class E: 25 points – those species that have not been bred, bred only rarely, or very difficult to breed based on the severity of the problems mentioned above. 
    • Common Examples: Arowana, Eels, Black ghost fish,  Knife fish, Loaches, Elephant Nose, Pirana Sharks, and all Marine species.
  • Class F: 5 points – this class is reserved for all cultivable organisms that provide food to aquatic inhabitants for breeding and raising to adulthood.
    • Common Examples: snails, brine shrimp, vinegar eels, and worms. The maximum number of points that can be earned in this class is 20.

Ready to submit your fry?

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please email us at and we will get back to you within 2 business days.